Following on from the last post…

I was talking about the american who did the pics through the window of his car, and how I’d seen his pictures in London….. My dear partner Helen has a memory for such things, and an iphone  with lots of pictures on it.baden4

That’s picture No1 from the exhibition and the photographer is Karl Baden

Picture No 2

me

It’s me! god knows how long ago in London (35-40 years ago), taken by a guy who came up to me and my brother and said “give me some money,I’ll take your picture and post it to you.” I did, and he did as you can see. It’s a bit of history isn’t it? That sort of thing couldn’t happen any more, we’d take a selfie or get a stranger to take it for us for nothing.

Back to Karl, I googled his name and came up with a few more of his images which I do quite like.

baden3

Brighton Ma 2012               Showing what the car he’s driving will look like when he’s worn it out.

baden2

Interstate 84 East CT
2011                                 A bit of wheel envy going on here!

baden1

Brighton Ma 2009        A wheel can even make you feel hungry.

Oh, these are my own captions.

I think these are all well framed,brightly coloured and humorous.

Looking at Badens work again I might put that sort of shot in my mind as something to look out for.

He’s done this video. He’s taken a picture of himself every day for 27years (on film) and made time lapse movie.

I would never have the sheer persistence do do that, mind you I haven’t got 27years left to do it in.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2570483/Watch-age-Artist-took-selfie-EVERY-day-27-years-create-video-aging-rapidly.html

So my vague recollection of Karl Badens work led me to produce my own image. My image has a more mundane theme, which I would have to say is a bit groundhog day (Don’t tell me you’ve not seen the film) ish… The same thing happening everyday. I see the moral of the film as, you do get it right in the end, but you have to keep plugging away at it! So if I had the urge to do it I might take a shot a day from the same place and bore somebody to tears telling them all about how boring it is to go to the same place every day aaaaagh!

Leave a comment